Tags

, , , , , ,

Image

“There is no time to lose” is my motto.

My passion has always lied in the arts and in dancing, and sometime between high school and college, I knew that I wanted to make movies. I’ve made a list of 10 resolutions for the new year with Zi Ying Liu, which we will both push each other to accomplish. They’re secret now, but someday you will find out what they are! These resolutions mainly outline ways for me to reach who I want to be as a person and who I want to be as a filmmaker and arts activist. Everyday, I have vowed to myself that I will do at least five things to achieve my film dream. I started this Monday, and so far things have been going well.

I am also working on becoming the best dancer I can be. I am still recovering from two leg injuries, but through these injuries I have learned to take much better care of my body. I can dance again, but I have to slowly build up. I do mainly Chinese dance and cultural dance, but this winter quarter, I am excited to be taking ballet (resuming) and belly dance (haven’t done this since my freshman and sophomore years of high school). I love exotic dances such as Indian, arabian, egyptian etc. They are a lot of fun and the music is so catchy and alluring.

My other hobby is reading. You won’t believe how many books I have checked out from the Alameda Free library, and CD’s too. I love new music and books. I’ve checked out books on Spielberg bios, Disney and Warner Bros bios, Chinese culture books, a geisha memoir, film books, Chinese Zodiac books, etc etc etc. When I go to find a specific book, I grab it, but then I look around the shelf at the books on similar topic surrounding them, which makes me graph 3 or 4 more books when I originally intended to just grab one. It’s great, and I hope I can finish all of them or at least take in the significance of each. My goal is to read one book a month from cover to cover. I feel that this will really inspire me even more.

It’s getting late, so have a good evening!

Stay tuned! I will keep updating. I am super excited to go back to UCLA for winter quarter, but before then, there is MUCH MORE that needs to be done.

I will stay strong and firm about my passion and it will never change. I can picture exactly who I want to be by or before 21. I know exactly what I want. And it has been great. I don’t ever feel like I am wasting time when I take actions towards what I want and who I want to be.

I hope that I can inspire some of you along the way to achieve your dreams too in pursuing my own dream.

Cheers,

Mei Sze Phung

