Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

DSC_0167 Here I am sitting in the corner of my dorm floor hallway. I am at the very end of the long hallway and I’m all the way up on the eighth floor and there is a window that goes from the ceiling to the floor of this 8th floor I am on, allowing me to overlook the a portion of the campus. I feel, above the world, you know that feeling? I live on the Visual and Performing Arts themed floor. The last year, my first year at UCLA as a transfer, I would consider myself hyperactive, running around the hallways, constantly talking to people and socializing, jumping and dancing around, always smiling and making small talk with my floormates. I WAS FREE AT LAST! My first taste of independence away from home! IT WAS THE TIME OF MY LIFE. I WAS EXPERIMENTING. I was performing dance and guitar for my floor, and even telling jokes. This year has been different. I found myself becoming more introverted and enjoying time that I have alone, feeling the most whole and complete when I can be by myself and think by myself and make art on my own – using dance in film for social action – a good cause. For the first time in my life, I feel so in touch with myself. It can be liberating. I would be listening to music all by myself doing some work, and feel, this is the life. I enjoy being around people, I always do, but afterwards, I go and be alone again, to feel that moment of transcendence and spiritual lightness again. Don’t get me wrong, I can change from extrovert to introvert anytime, or introvert to extrovert, but it is now, at this moment, when I feel introverted, that I feel so at peace with the world and with myself.

I realize it’s been FOUR months since I last wrote a blog post on June 19, 2014. I am sorry to abandon you all for so long. What have I been doing? Summer school (increasing my knowledge/experience in filmmaking and acting), a trip to Asia (talk about traveling to the other side of the world!), and then working on my project “A Dance to World Peace”. I never abandoned my dream. Somedays I can feel a little out of it. Some days I need a break to think and reflect some more. But at the end of the day, what I know that’s true to me is that, that dream and vision stays true to me — to some people it might be stupid or a waste of time. I have a hard time explaining what I do to people because I don’t know how to say it without sounding like I am trying to do something that seems impossible.

My dream is to help solve world hunger through dance and film. I realize that now I am 20 years old. In a month and two days, I turn 21. Everyday I grow a little older and I will never be as young as I am now. Today I am 20 years and 10 months 28 ish days old. I always am aware that each passing day is a day that I should take advantage of to do what I want to do to change the world, to leave my mark, to make an impact. I’d say that for the most part, I am on track with my life goals and am pretty happy with where I am and with what I have accomplished thus far. About two years down the road, I can see myself having made and starred in my first feature film, “A Dance to World Peace”, a film with one sole mission: to encourage and inspire people to join in on the mission to solve hunger – to lead a movement to help solve world hunger through the arts – through the unity and amalgamation of dance of all types from all over the world.

I want to invite others to join in on using the rich traditions of dance from all over the world, be it contemporary or traditional, as an artistic medium for social transformation to alleviate global hunger.

To complement this endeavor in real time, I am working on a community based arts project, also called “A Dance to World Peace”, a series of three youtube videos in which dancers from all over the world dance to raise awareness about global hunger, and it will have a call to action – mainly in support of World Food Program USA (a branch of the United Nations World Food Programme), Oxfam America, and Action Against Hunger, hunger/poverty alleviation-based organizations and the likes. I hope that they will build up and give momentum to the bigger feature film that I am working on that will be released in theaters come 2015/2016. I am getting sleepy but I won’t sleep until I finish my work. Wish me luck! 😀 ❤ And of course, I wholeheartedly wish you luck with what you are trying to accomplish as well!

“What is now proved was once only imagined.”

― William Blake

“Every great dream begins with a dreamer. Always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world.”

-Harriet Tubman

